Lifetime Achievement Awards

The National Basketry Organization awarded its first Lifetime Achievement Awards in 2013 at the biennial conference at Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts in Gatlinburg, Tennessee.

The Award recognizes  the work of individuals whose work has influenced the field of American basketry and acknowledges superior achievement over the course of an entire career. Those who win this award are living role models that have made extraordinary contributions to the creation, support and growth of the field of American Basketry.


2021 Recipients: Lois Russell of Massachusetts and Dawn Walden of Michigan

Dawn Walden (above, left) and Lois Russell were presented with the NBO Lifetime Achievement Award for their outstanding talent, history and support of basketry for many decades. Read more about them here in the profile we did in the  NBO Spring 2021 Basketry + Magazine. 

2019 Recipients:  Jane Sauer of Missouri and Joanna Schanz of Iowa.

Jane Sauer

Joanna Schanz

Joanna Schanz










Enjoy a short video about these award winning artists:


2017 Recipients: Gyöngy Laky of California, and Delores Churchill of Alaska. (Click on images for profile.)

Delores Churchill

Gyöngy Laky


2015 Recipients:  Dorothy Gill Barnes of Ohio, and  Cynthia Taylor and Aaron Yakim of West Virginia.

2013 Recipients:  John Garrett of Arizona, Flo Hoppe of New York, and Leona Waddell of Kentucky.

Select the name of previous winners to view their award presentation videos:

Dorothy Gill Barnes

Cynthia Taylor and Aaron Yakim

John Garrett

Flo Hoppe

Leona Waddell